• 1 of 9 DOTr 123rd Anniversary
  • 2 of 9 Build Build Build Banner
  • 3 of 9 Aviation Banner
  • 4 of 9 Railways
  • 5 of 9 Maritime
  • 6 of 9 Road Sector
  • 7 of 9 DOTr Secretary
  • 8 of 9 FOI
  • 9 of 9 FOI
The Toll Regulatory Board (TRB), an agency under the Department of Transportation (DOTr) has declared the South Luzon Expressway (SLEx) Toll Road 5 and Pasig River Expressway (PAREX) projects as toll road projects.
In a TRB resolution dated 29 June 2020, the two road projects were declared as toll roads upon the request of, and based on the proposal submitted by the joint venture (JV) of the Philippine National Construction Corporation (PNCC) and San Miguel Holdings Corporation (SMHC).
With the declaration of the two (2) projects as toll roads, the Technical Working Group (TWG) of the TRB, composed of representatives from the DOTr, Department of Public Works and Highways (DPWH), Department of Finance (DOF), and the National Economic and Development Authority (NEDA), as well as the private sector, is now in discussion with the Joint Venture on the technical, financial, and legal details of the 2 projects that will lead to the finalization of the concession agreement. 
“The PNCC-SMHC Joint Venture requested that government recognize the 2 projects as toll road project. These have their respective basic design plan. The TRB has given an instruction to the TWG to discuss the details of the project with the JV that will be the basis of the concession agreements. We are also waiting for the JV to submit certain requirements,” TRB Executive Director Sales said. 
Construction of the two projects is being eyed to start within the remaining two years of the Duterte administration,” added the TRB Executive Director.
Presidential Decree (PD) No. 1112 mandates the TRB to supervise, monitor and regulate the construction, operation and maintenance of toll facilities as well as the rates that may be charged therefrom.
The TR5 is a 4-lane divided toll road that starts from the terminal point of the SLEx TR4 Project at Barangay Mayao, Lucena City in Quezon, and ends at Matnog, Sorsogon, near the Matnog Ferry Terminal. The toll road is approximately 420-kilometers long, and will be composed of eight (8) segments and a total of 28 interchanges: 
• Segment 1 (Lucena to Gumaca) – 61 kilometers
• Segment 2 (Gumaca to Tagkawayan) – 58.60 kms.
• Segment 3 (Tagkawayan to Sipocot) – 61.40 kms.
• Segment 4 (Sipocot to Naga City) – 39.50 kms.
• Segment 5 (Naga City to Polangui) – 45.90 kms.
• Segment 6 (Polangui to Legaspi City) – 33.60 kms.
• Segment 7 (Legaspi City to Sorsogon)- 57.70 kms.
• Segment 8 (Sorsogon to Matnog) – 62.30 kms.
The project has an estimated cost of P22.6-B (for Segment 1 only) and has an implementation period of 24 months (for Segment 1 only).
Through its legislative franchise, PNCC has the authority to construct, maintain and operate the South Luzon Expressway and Skyway Stages 1, 2, 3 and all extensions, linkages or stretches from any part of the existing toll roads.
Also declared as a toll road project, the proposed 19.365 km PAREX aims to connect Manila with the province of Rizal with a 6-lane elevated expressway that will traverse the entirety of the Pasig River.
The PAREX, which is also a joint agreement project between the PNCC and the SMHC, starts from Radial Road 10 in Manila and will end at a connection to the South East Metro Manila Expressway at Circumferential Road 6 (C6).
According to the TRB, the project will connect and utilize a 2.7-kilometer portion of the Skyway Stage 3 from Nagtahan to Plaza Azul.
Once completed, PAREX will be composed of three segments:
• Segment 1 (R-10 to Plaza Azul) – 5.74 kilometers.
• Plaza Azul to San Juan River (MMSS3) – 2.70 kms.
• Segment 2 (San Juan River to C5 Intersection) – 7.325 kms.
• Segment 3 (C5 Intersection – C6 Intersection)- 6.30 kms.
The project, which was earlier approved in principle by members of the TRB Board, has an estimated project cost of P95.413-billion. Its estimated project implementation period is 36 months. 
05 August 2020