• 1 of 8 DOTr 123rd Anniversary
  • 2 of 8 Build Build Build Banner
  • 3 of 8 Aviation Banner
  • 4 of 8 Railways
  • 5 of 8 Maritime
  • 6 of 8 Road Sector
  • 7 of 8 2022 National Women's Month Celebration
  • 8 of 8 FOI
MANILA – To ensure swift transition to cashless transactions on toll expressways, the Department of Transportation (DOTr) reiterated the need for its immediate implementation not later than 02 November 2020.
This follows the release of the Department Order 2020-012, signed on 13 August 2020 by DOTr Secretary Arthur Tugade, directing concerned agencies of the Department, namely the Toll Regulatory Board (TRB), Land Transportation Franchising and Regulatory Board (LTFRB), and Land Transportation Office-Philippines (LTO), to formulate new processes and procedures to ensure the smooth implementation of cashless transactions on toll expressways.
Pursuant to its function as the implementing authority over limited access facilities, the TRB is directed to promulgate rules and regulations that will require concessionaires and operators to transition to a one hundred percent (100%) electronic toll collection lanes.
The Department Order further states that the TRB shall ensure concessionaires and operators install electronic tags or other cashless systems, such as but not limited to, RFID, Automated Fare Collection System (AFCS), etc. for all motorists and motor vehicles using the toll expressways and transact only thru the cashless mode of payment of toll not later than 02 November 2020.
“Coordination is already ongoing between TRB and our concessionaires and operators. We are also working on the Implementing Rules and Regulations of the new policy to ensure smooth and expedient transition to contactless and cashless transactions. Ginagawa natin 'yan para walang hawaan [ng COVID-19]. 'Yan po ang direktiba sa atin ni Secretary Tugade kaya sisiguraduhin po natin na maipatupad ito by November 2.“ TRB Executive Director Abraham Sales said.
Meanwhile, the LTO will be in-charge of studying and exploring ways and means to allow for a full cashless and contactless system along expressways, while the LTFRB will monitor the compliance of all Public Utility Vehicles (PUVs) on the mandatory use/installation of electronic tags or use of other cashless systems in their units.
Contactless transactions shall be implemented in the following identified limited access facilities: South Luzon Expressway (SLEX), Manila-Cavite Toll Expressway (CAVITEX), North Luzon Expressway (NLEX), South Metro Manila Skyway, Southern Tagalog Arterial Road (STAR) Tollway, Subic-Clark-Tarlac Expressway (SCTEX), Cavite-Laguna Expressway (CALAX) ; and all other road networks, including any extension of the existing expressway facilities mentioned, that may be constructed, established and/or operated as expressway toll facilities. 
The new policy ensures further protection of the public from the infectious coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19), as it promotes adherence to health protocols such as physical distancing through limiting human intervention, and removing the traffic queues as well as congestion at toll plazas.
27 August 2020