• 1 of 6 DOTr 122nd Anniversary
  • 2 of 6 Build Build Build Banner
  • 3 of 6 Aviation Banner
  • 4 of 6 Railways
  • 5 of 6 Maritime
  • 6 of 6 Road Sector

Screenshot 20210221 205449

IN PHOTOS: The Department of Transportation (DOTr), led by Secretary Arthur Tugade, met with Move As One Coalition yesterday, 20 February 2021, to discuss and align initiatives in promoting active transport in the country.

Secretary Tugade expressed the Department's full support on active transport, saying that the recommendations presented by the Coalition, such as the establishment of bike lanes, implementation of a bike-sharing program, and service contracting program, are ongoing projects of the department to move people, maximize road space utilization and ensure the health and safety of commuters.  
He also said DOTr is steadfast in coordinating with Local Government Units (LGUs) with regard to bike lanes, noting that the approach to encourage active transport is not exclusive to Metro Manila, as bike lanes are also being established in other provinces. 
Assistant Secretary for Road Transport and Infrastructure Mark Steven Pastor said the DOTr is committed in pushing for the completion of active transport infrastructure as efforts are moving as scheduled.
In railways, Undersecretary for Railways Timothy John Batan reported that bike racks have been installed in Rail lines such as LRT-1, LRT-2, MRT-3 and PNR to further encourage the use of bikes, and to help commuters easily transfer from one transport mode to another. 
Also included in the topics discussed were the EDSA Greenways project, EDSA Busway Bridge with Concourse Project, Cebu Bus Rapid Transit (CBRT), and the Davao Public Transport Modernization Project (DPTMP). 
DOTr Officials present at the meeting include Undersecretary for Legal Affairs Reinier Yebra, Undersecretary for Planning Ruben Reinoso, Philippine Railways Institute (PRI) Executive Director and Bus Rapid Transit (BRT) Project Head Undersecretary Anneli Lontoc, Chief of Staff and Assistant Secretary for Procurement and Project Implementation Giovanni Lopez, Land Transportation Franchising and Regulatory Board (LTFRB) Chairman Martin Delgra III, Land Transportation Office (LTO) Chief Assistant Secretary Edgar Galvante, and Philippine Ports Authority (PPA) General Manager Jay Santiago. 
Members from Move as One Coalition who attended include Robert Siy, Toix Cerna, Ken Abante, Arjay Mercado and Jaime Aguilar and Healthcare Professionals Alliance Against COVID-19 (HPAAC) Spokesperson Dr. Antonio Dans.
21 February 2021

2020 Annual Report