• 1 of 6 DOTr 122nd Anniversary
  • 2 of 6 Build Build Build Banner
  • 3 of 6 Aviation Banner
  • 4 of 6 Railways
  • 5 of 6 Maritime
  • 6 of 6 Road Sector


For the love of country and of the Filipino people, the Department of Transportation (DOTr), under the strong-willed leadership of Secretary Arthur P. Tugade, fetes four major railway projects geared to enhance connectivity and mobility.

METRO MANILA SUBWAY. A historic event that turned a "pipe dream" into reality. The country's first-ever underground rail line officially broke ground on Wednesday, 27 February 2019. With an incredible speed of 80 kph, the Metro Manila Subway will zoom through 15 stations from Quirino Highway in Quezon City to NAIA Terminal 3 in Pasay and FTI in Taguig in just 31 minutes. The Subway's Partial Operability Section, comprised of the first three stations (Quirino Highway – Mindanao Avenue Station, Tandang Sora Station, and North Avenue Station), the depot in Valenzuela, and structures for the Philippine Railway Institute (PRI), is set to start serving the public by 2022.

PNR CLARK PHASE 1. The North-South Commuter Railway Project aims to connect the north in Clark, Pampanga and the south down to Calamba, Laguna in a seamless link of three rail lines. Its Tutuban to Malolos leg, known as the PNR Clark Phase 1, commenced full-blast construction on 15 February 2019. It will have 13 train sets, composed of 8 cars each, which will be running at a maximum speed of 120 kilometers per hour. This leg of the NSCR will reduce travel time between Manila and Bulacan from one (1) hour and 45 minutes to just 35 minutes. PNR Clark Phase 1 is targeted for completion by the last quarter of 2021.

COMMON STATION. The Common Station is a 13,700-square meter concourse that marks the intersection of four railway lines – the LRT-1, MRT-3, MRT-7, and the Metro Manila Subway. Located at the north end of EDSA, the Common Station is comprised of three areas: Areas A, B and C. At the actual site of construction, the DOTr signed the contract for the design and build of Area A on 13 February 2019. The Common Station will feature a transit area for the riding public, operated by an automated fare collection system, which will give commuters better point-to-point mobility and comfort. Area A is set to be completed by 2020, while the entire Common Station is expected to be operational by 2022.

MRT-3 REHABILITATION. Transition works are now ongoing for the long-overdue rehabilitation of the MRT-3. Following the signing of the PhP18-billion loan agreement with Japan and the return of Sumitomo Corporation and its technical partner Mitsubishi Heavy Industries as the Rehabilitation and Maintenance Service Provider, the MRT-3 is set to undergo rehabilitation and maintenance of its electromechanical components, power supply, rail tracks, depot equipment, and overhaul of its 72 light rail vehicles. Once rehabilitated, the MRT-3 will return to its high-grade infrastructure condition. It will increase the number of its operating train sets from the current 15 to 20 at peak hours, double the train operating speed to 60 kilometers per hour, and slash by half the time between trains from the current 7-10 minutes to up to 3.5 minutes.

These are the DOTr's humble gifts to make the Filipino life comfortable.


Press Release 

28 February 2019